Koizora

“I want to be the sky, so I can always watch over you.” – Hiro

Wiki | IMDb

Starring: Miura Haruma, Aragaki Yui

So, Japan decided to jump on the bandwagon to try to make me a pedo. Korea was already doing a great job with SHINee and Ajoo, too. Join the pedo-bandwagon!!

The story is about an extremely shy, cute girl named Mika (Aragaki Yui). Her friend has a crush on Nozumu, a guy from another class. Nozumu actually likes Mika, who immediately turns him down and tells him that he should be asking for her friend’s number before running away. With Nozumu is a blond-haired rebel who instantly takes notice of Mika. Later, she discovers that her phone is missing. She finds it in the library, propped between books, ringing. When she answers the phone, thinking it to be her friend, a mysterious voice answers instead. Throughout summer break, this mystery man continuously calls/texts her. Eventually, they are able to establish a friendship, and even romance. Dying to know what he looks like, Mika begs him to reveal himself. The mysterious caller agrees and tells her to meet him on the roof by the pool at their school. It turns out to be the rebel from before – a boy named Hiro (Miura Haruma). Though they get off on the wrong foot at first, the two develop an unlikely romance. However, all good things must come to an end…

This movie was bittersweet. Since it’s told by Mika, there are often things that happen that we don’t understand until they are explained to her. Hiro uses the excuse, “I suddenly want to play with other girls” to break up with her, but we find out later that there was a darker reason behind it. I don’t want to ruin it for you, so I won’t say. Just…that it’s really sad. ;_;

Miura Haruma was actually the exact age of his character in the movie – 16/17. The kid was born in 1990, but man does he look good! I noticed that there is a drama to this movie, but I couldn’t bring myself to watch it. Miura’s interpretation of Hiro was so perfect, and he had such amazing chemistry with Aragaki’s Mika that I don’t think I could let anyone else play them. Maybe someday…

I have to give major props to the guy that comes in after Hiro to date Mika, though. Her friend takes Mika to a party, in hopes of helping her forget Hiro, and introduces her to Fukuhara Yu (Koide Keisuke). Mika describes Hiro as being like a river, sweeping everything away with it, but Yu is like a calm ocean. When he proposes to Mika and she runs into Hiro again, he says that it would be horrible of him to keep the one he loves from happiness [see quote at bottom] )))))); That there, ladies and gentleman, is a TRUE MAN, and TRUE LOVE. He lets her go! *weeps* At the end, though, I hoped Yuu would come back. D:

Another thing I liked was how respectful Hiro was with Mika. Even though he’s violent, he was always gentle with her. He even changes his hair colour back to black to make a good impression on her rather traditional family. And let me tell you, he looks sexy blond or black!

If you’re looking for a good romantic movie that will move you (perhaps to tears, in this case), Koizora is a good investment. Even if you don’t like sad endings, I think this movie is definitely not something to overlook!

Let me know what you guys thought about the movie if you see it! Comments are always welcome. (:

Rating: 4/5

“For me to stop the woman that I love from finding her happiness… what a horrible person I am.” – Yuu

2 thoughts on “Koizora

  1. It’s such a good movie, I’m watching it again right now! I’m thinking of starting the drama soon, just to see what it’s like. Even though Miura Haruma’s acting cannot ever be bested in my opinion. Nobody is Hiro but him!

Leave a Reply

